Sécurité de la base de données avec MariaDB

Sécurité avancée de la base de données

protection des données + détection des menaces et prévention

Il ne faut pas sous-estimer l’importance de la sécurité avancée des bases de données. En juillet 2017, le Centre des ressources sur le vol d’identité et CyberScout ont signalé une augmentation de 29 % du nombre d’atteintes à la protection des données par rapport à l’année précédente.

Webinar

How to maximize security and data protection with MariaDB Platform

This webinar provides a detailed overview of the security features available in MariaDB Platform, with a strong focus on advanced security features and the latest security features introduced in MariaDB Enterprise Server.

Watch Now

5 étapes clés pour garantir la sécurité des bases de données

Pare-feu et masquage des données

Le plug-in pare-feu utilise une configuration basée sur des règles pour intercepter et bloquer les requêtes basées sur des paramètres multiples (par exemple, utilisateur ou syntaxe), notamment afin d'empêcher les attaques malveillantes comme les injections SQL de supprimer toutes les lignes d'une table ou d'accéder à des tables/colonnes restreintes. Le plug-in de masquage de données peut être configuré pour masquer les données sensibles (par exemple, PII/SPI – cartes de crédit, numéros de sécurité sociale).

Chiffrement de bout en bout

Les connexions entre les clients, les proxys et les bases de données peuvent être chiffrées avec Transport Layer Security (TLS) pour protéger les données en mouvement, tandis que les tables et les logs binaires peuvent être chiffrés avec des algorithmes AES (Advanced Encryption Standard) pour protéger les données au repos. Des plug-ins pour AWS Key Management Service (KMS) et eperi Gateway sont disponibles.

Audits

Le plug-in d'audit peut être configuré pour suivre tous les événements de la base de données – connexions, requêtes (DML/DDL/DCL) et tables ayant fait l’objet d’un accès – en enregistrant l'heure, le nom d'utilisateur et l'hôte, la base de données et le fonctionnement, etc. En plus des fichiers locaux, les fichiers distants sont pris en charge via syslog et rsyslog, souvent pour agréger les événements de base de données provenant de plusieurs serveurs et/ou restreindre l'accès.

Protection par déni de service

Le filtre de limitation des résultats peut être configuré pour bloquer les requêtes malveillantes destinées à ralentir la base de données en renvoyant des milliers, voire des millions de lignes. En outre, pour se protéger contre les attaques par déni de service (DoS) et par déni de service distribué (DDoS), des limites de ressources utilisateur peuvent être fixées pour limiter la fréquence des connexions, des requêtes et autres.

Authentification enfichable et autorisation de rôle/groupe

L'authentification LDAP avec mappage des utilisateurs et des groupes (mots de passe SSH, mots de passe uniques et, également, authentification à deux facteurs via Google Authenticator) est prise en charge par le plug-in Pluggable Authentication Module (PAM), tandis que les plug-ins de validation de mots de passe peuvent être activés pour appliquer des mots de passe forts. Par ailleurs, les administrateurs peuvent configurer le contrôle d’accès basé sur des rôles (RBAC).

Protection des données et réglementations

Aujourd’hui, de nombreuses entreprises doivent se conformer à une ou plusieurs normes et réglementations de sécurité (PCI, HIPAA, SOX et RGPD, pour n’en citer que quelques-unes). MariaDB est conçu pour la sécurité, qu’il s’agisse du chiffrement et de la gestion des clés pour la conformité PCI ou de la pseudonymisation (c’est-à-dire le masquage de données) pour la conformité.  En savoir plus sur la manière de sécuriser votre base de données pour la conformité à la RGPD.

Composants de sécurité de MariaDB

L’exemple de topologie ci-dessous utilise le clustering multimaître avec réplication synchrone et sépare les lectures et les écritures : routage de toutes les écritures vers un seul nœud (choisi par le proxy de la base de données) et routage de toutes les lectures vers les autres nœuds (avec équilibrage de la charge).

White paper

Enterprise data security with MariaDB

MariaDB secures data at every layer – from encrypted communication and storage to pluggable authentication and role-based access control, plus an advanced database proxy with a built-in firewall to detect and prevent data breaches by blocking queries and masking sensitive data.

Download now

Advanced database security

data protection + threat detection and prevention

The importance of advanced database security cannot be underestimated. In July 2017, Identity Theft Resource Center and CyberScout reported a 29% increase in the number of data breaches over the previous year.

White Paper

Enterprise data security with MariaDB TX

MariaDB TX secures data at every layer – from encrypted communication and storage to pluggable authentication and role-based access control, plus an advanced database proxy with a built-in firewall to detect and prevent data breaches by blocking queries and masking sensitive data.

Download the white paper

5 key steps to ensuring database security

Firewall and data masking

The firewall plugin uses rule-based configuration to intercept and block queries based on multiple parameters (e.g., user or syntax) to, for example, prevent malicious attacks like SQL injection from deleting all rows in a table or accessing restricted tables/columns. The data masking plugin can be configured to hide sensitive data (e.g., PII/SPI – credit cards, Social Security numbers).

End-to-end encryption

The connections between clients, proxies and databases can be encrypted with Transport Layer Security (TLS) to protect data in motion while tables and binary logs can be encrypted with Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) algorithms to protect data at rest – and there are plugins for the AWS Key Management Service (KMS) and the eperi Gateway.

Auditing

The auditing plugin can be configured to track all database events – connections, queries (DML/DDL/DCL) and tables accessed – logging the time, username and host, database and operation, and more. In addition to local files, remote files are supported via syslog and rsyslog – often to aggregate database events from multiple servers and/or restrict access.

Denial of service protection

The result limiting filter can be configured to block malicious queries intended to slow down the database by returning thousands if not millions of rows. In addition, to protect from denial of service (DoS) and distributed denial of service (DDoS) attacks, user resource limits can be set to restrict the frequency of connections, queries and more.

Pluggable authentication and role/group authorization

LDAP authentication with user and group mapping – SSH passwords, one-time passwords and two-factor authentication via Google Authenticator, too – is supported via the Pluggable Authentication Module (PAM) plugin while password validation plugins can be enabled to enforce strong passwords. In addition, administrators can configure role-based access control (RBAC).

Data protection and regulations

Today, many companies have to comply with one or more security standards and regulations – PCI, HIPAA, SOX and GDPR, to name a few. MariaDB TX is engineered for security, whether it’s encryption and key management for PCI compliance or pseudonymization (i.e., data masking) for compliance.  Learn more about how to secure your database for GDPR compliance.

MariaDB TX security components

The example topology below uses multi-master clustering with synchronous replication and splits reads and writes – routing all writes to a single node (chosen by the database proxy) and routing all reads to the other nodes (with load balancing).

On-demand webinar

Data security for regulatory compliance & beyond

This on-demand webinar walks through all of the security features available in MariaDB TX, from encrypting client connections to blocking or accepting queries to stopping denial of service attacks with query result limiting. Learn to how to fully secure a MariaDB TX deployment to protect personal and/or sensitive data.

watch now
White paper

Enterprise data security with MariaDB TX

MariaDB TX secures data at every layer – from encrypted communication and storage to pluggable authentication and role-based access control, plus an advanced database proxy with a built-in firewall to detect and prevent data breaches by blocking queries and masking sensitive data.

Download now